In the end, it is almost always the Springboks who emerge victorious in the England-South Africa match.

Les Sud-Africains ont l’avantage des chiffres devant l’Angleterre, avec quatre rencontres sur cinq remportées au Mondial, dont deux finales : retour sur ces duels marquants entre le XV de la Rose et les Springboks avant la demi-finale du Mondial-2023, samedi, au Stade de France.

1999 : l’Afrique du Sud déroule

At the Stade de France, the Springboks, reigning world champions, completely dominate the English in the quarter-finals. Led by the impressive kicking of fly-half Jannie De Beer, who sets a record for drop goals in a World Cup match (five), the South Africans win convincingly 44-21. With this victory, South Africa advances to the semi-finals but falls short against Australia (27-21), who go on to become the world champions.

2003 : les Anglais vers le titre

In 2003, the Group C encounter between South Africa and England is anticipated as the standout match of the first round. Against a determined Springboks team in the rucks, the efficient English world number ones secure the victory (25-6), with Wilkinson’s two drop goals playing a significant role.

Tombeurs du pays de Galles et de la France en phases finale, les Anglais remportent la première et seule Coupe du monde de leur histoire face aux hôtes australiens (20-17).

2007 : l’Afrique du Sud revancharde

The English team, without their star opener Wilkinson who is injured in the ankle, and their captain Phil Vickery who is suspended, return with nervousness to defend their title in this new World Cup in France. The South Africans, dominant and confident in their strength, smoothly defeat and outperform the English team, who fail to score any points (36-0) in the group stage.

2007 : les Springboks dominent en finale

At the Stade de France, a final for a second world title is being played, following 1995 for the Springboks and 2003 for the English.

In a tightly contested match ultimately won by the South Africans thanks to the kicking of fullback Percy Montgomery (15-6), the English team scored a try early in the second half but it was disallowed due to a foot out of bounds. With this victory, the Springboks secure their second World Cup.

2019 : un troisième sacre sud-africain

In Japan, English and South Africans meet for a new final 12 years after the Springboks’ victory in France. England, impressive, sweeps Australia (40-16) in the quarterfinals and then defeats the All Blacks (19-7) in the semifinals.

However, she misses the final, stumbling upon the powerful scrum of the Springboks (32-12). South Africa wins a third world title and is now on par with the New Zealanders, who were crowned champions in 1987, 2011, and 2015.

Comments are closed.